History of Dalat Market, the Central Market in Dalat
The former market was built with wood in 1929 at the present Hoa Binh square. In 1937, a big fire destroyed the market totally. After that ambassador Lucien Auger planed a new market with bricks. The market could meet the commercial demand for 6,500 people and it was considered as the symbol for the highland city. In the front of the market, we can see the bas-relief of minority boys and girls and the Latin saying where (perhaps) the name of Dalat came from: Dat Alis Laetitiam Alis Temperiem. This means bringing happiness to this person and freshness to the other. In 1958, according to the plan of Mayor Tran Van Phuoc, the market was redesigned. It has two floors. In 1993, on the occasion of Dalat 100 years of foundation and development, Dalat market was upgraded and restored as the present market.
Development Records of Dalat Market
Last January 11th 2011, under the decision of local government, Len Nguyen Company started working on Dalat Center plan. With its capital of nearly 900 billion dong, Dalat Center is being built on the land of lot C of Dalat market. Its ground floor has the area of 5,000m2. It has 4 basement and 10 floors. Dalat Center includes a traditional market with over 1,000 compartment, a hotel and high-grade flats. It is expected to be opended in 2013 by Sacomreal-S Company.
Source: Lamdong Geography book and Dalat People’s Committee